Welcome more outstanding talents to explore and innovate, and create value for society.

Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK)

The Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK) is a national standardized test that focuses on the ability of Chinese as a non-native speaker to use Chinese for communication in life, study and work.


I. Ability Description

*HSK (Levels 7-9) adopts the form that a test paper is divided into three levels according to the test results.



Ability description


HSK (Level 1)

Be able to understand and use some very simple Chinese words and sentences, and have the ability to learn Chinese further.

HSK (Level 2)

Be able to communicate simply and directly on some common topics in life in Chinese.

HSK (Level 3)

Can use Chinese to complete basic communication tasks in life, study and work.


HSK (Level 4)

Be able to conduct basic complete, coherent and effective social communication on more complicated topics such as life, study and work.

HSK (Level 5)

Be able to conduct relatively complete, smooth and effective social communication on complex topics such as life, study and work.

HSK (Level 6)

Be able to have rich, fluent and decent social communication on the study and work topics in some professional fields.


HSK (Level 7) *

Be able to conduct basic normative, fluent and decent social communication on a wider and higher-level topic.

HSK (Level 8)

Be able to conduct standardized, fluent and decent social communication on various high-level or professional topics.

HSK (Level 9)

Be able to use all kinds of skills comprehensively and conduct standardized, fluent and appropriate social communication on all kinds of topics in all kinds of situations.


II. Test Content

The HSK is developed according to the Chinese Proficiency Grading Standards for International Chinese Language Education (GF0025-2021), which examines the listening, speaking, reading, writing and translation abilities of Chinese, as well as the key Chinese characters, vocabulary, grammar, Chinese culture and China's national conditions.


Test Subject



HSK (Level 1)

Listening, reading


HSK (Level 2)

Listening, reading


HSK (Level 3)

Listening, reading and writing


HSK (Level 4)

Listening, reading and writing


HSK (Level 5)

Listening, reading and writing


HSK (Level 6)

Listening, reading and writing


HSK (Levels 7-9)

Listening, speaking, reading, writing and translating



* The "speaking" ability of HSK levels 1-6 is tested in a separate HSK speaking test.


III. Test Principles

Promote the all-round development of learners, criterion-referenced and test-teaching correlation;

Highlight China's language and culture, with rich themes and comprehensive examination;

Strengthen Chinese communication ability, pay attention to practice and apply what you have learned.


IV. Test Purpose

HSK scores can meet diverse needs and provide reference for the following purposes:

1. College enrollment, class teaching, course exemption and credit granting;

2. The employing agency recruits, trains and promotes staff;

3. Chinese language teaching units to evaluate the effectiveness of their teaching.

4. Chinese language learners to understand and improve their Chinese language skills.


V. Announcement of Results

One month after the end of the test, candidates can log on to the Chinese test service website to check their scores. The HSK score report is issued by the Center for Language and Education Cooperation (CLEC) of the Ministry of Education, and the score is valid for two years from the examination date.



Back to Top